MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

2017 Ford River Race Results

On August 5, 2017, the Alamo Area Council of the Boy Scouts of America and and Paseo del Rio Association hosted the Ford River Race. The 49th annual challenge was a huge success with 109 youth and adult Scouts and 135 public participants in attendance. Commuters and by-passers watched with excitement as they saw kayaks and canoes racing down the San Antonio River. The event was able to promote Scouting and the Paseo del Rio partnership while offering Boy Scouts the opportunity to complete multiple merit badges.

Scouts were filled with enthusiasm and excitement as they raced their fellow Scouts and friends down the river. “This is a really fun event. I never thought I’d be racing in a kayak on the San Antonio River. I’d rather be here than at home watching TV or playing video games. I recommend everyone to join scouting!” said Scout and first place winner. The event also advocated water safety which local BSA council volunteers were teaching and advising about its many precautions.


The following are the placements in the event:



Canoe | Females 11-12           1st – Isabelle Ayala/Sonica Hughes

Canoe | Females 15-20           1st – Mary Price/Jessica Hird                    2nd – Abby Price/Angel Smith                 3rd – Cameryn Manley/Ashlyn Ford

Canoe | Males 11-12               1st – Brychan Dilworth/Aidan Dilworth       2nd – Ethan Mata/Gavin Avey                  3rd – Eduardo Torres/AJ Moralez

Canoe | Males 13-14               1st – Aaron Salinas/Justin Salinas            2nd – Gage Cantenni/Kyle Patton           3rd – George Cortez/Rudy Zarate

Canoe | Males 15-20               1st – Bryan Ybarra/Anthony Hernandez    2nd – Evan Dooley/Daniel Hauntes         3rd – Thomas Rogers/Nathan Robinson


Kayak | Males 11-12                1st – Brychan Dilworth                               2nd – Mark Fernandez                            3rd – Aidan Dilworth

Kayak | Males 13-14                1st – Joseph Fernandez                             

Kayak | Males 15-20                1st – Ben Walther                                      2nd – Andrew Moberley                          3rd – Kirin Wiggins



Scout Leaders

Canoe | Female Leaders        1st – Michelle Rivera/Bethany Buento

Canoe | Male Leaders             1st – Matt Dooley/Hugo Chavez                2nd – Derek Schoenfeld/David Ferrell    3rd – E. Robert Fanick/Nolan Wright

Canoe | Mixed Leaders           1st – Nolan Wright/Svitlana Kroll                2nd – Wren Dilworth/Cameron Dilworth  3rd – E. Robert Fanick/Svitlana Kroll


Kayak | Male Leaders             1st – Patrick Walther                                   2nd – Wayne Dilworth

Kayak | Mixed Leaders            1st – Xander Young/Rene Hanson                           

            Thanks for everyone who participated and congratulation to all the winner in every category. We invite everybody to join us next year. To keep up to date with future activities or next year’s EXPO visit www.alamoareabsa.orgExternal Link.

Copyright © 2018 Alamo Area Council, Boy Scouts of America.
Phone 210-341-8611 All rights Reserved. Web Site Powered By CouncilWare®