Dr. Charles Rockwood honored with Distinguished Eagle Scout Award

One of San Antonio’s Medical Pioneers, Dr. Charles A. Rockwood was honored at the UT Health Science Center in the Holly Auditorium on Saturday, April 15th. The ceremony was held at 2:00 P.M. and featured a film about his professional life, before being presented with the National Distinguished Eagle Scout Award by the Boy Scouts of America. 

The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award has only been presented to 2,180 adults who earned the rank of Eagle Scout as youth. More than 2.5 million young men have earned the rank of Eagle Scout since the founding of the BSA in 1910.

Being established in 1969 to acknowledge Eagle Scouts who have received extraordinary national-recognition, fame, or eminence with in their field, and have a strong record of voluntary service to their community. A candidate for the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award must have earned the rank of Eagle Scout a minimum of 25 years previously and is decided upon by the National Eagle Scout Association.

Dr. Rockwood is Chairman Emeritus of the Department of Orthopedics at the University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio and was one of six founding faculty members of the institution. He also was the founder of the Bexar County EMS Department which was the first in the USA.

He is a pioneer in shoulder surgery and is a world renown orthopedic surgeon who has written textbooks and trained many physicians.

The National Eagle Scout Association has also honored the following San Antonio residents with the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award – Lewis Kayton 1970, Robert T. Herres 1990, Franklin Scott Spear Jr. 1991, and Jack Richmond 1998.

Dr. Rockwood has been very active in community service his whole life including as a Scoutmaster at his church. Five of his nine sons are also Eagle Scouts.