MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

Texas Hills Seeks to Recognize Service to Scouting

by Darlene Karthauser, November 19, 2014

The January 8, 2015 District Banquet will be held at the Bandera United Methodist Church at 7:00 pm. All units throughout the district are invited to bring all their families to recognize the leaders for their service to Scouting and to recognize our Eagle Scouts of 2014.

There are three awards to recognize Scouters for their work at different levels:

The Top of Texas Award is a unit award. The Unit Committee along with the Cub/Scoutmaster should choose an adult from their unit that exemplifies the qualities of Scouting and has worked at the unit level to provide service above and beyond. Each unit will submit one person to recognize from their unit to the District Committee Advancement and Recognition Chair, Darlene Karthauser.

Texas Hills Scouters who have received this award in the past are:

                                                               Bill Nichols (T111)        Tom Brown* (T140)

                                                         Sabrina Garces (T60)        Darlene Karthauser* (T111)

                                                   Nicole Chambers (T370)        Robert Collier* (T111)

                                                          John Knoulton(T111)        *Formerly Soaring Arrow Award

                                                                    Michelle Taylor

                                                        Carryl Vasquez(T111)

The District Award of Merit is a district award. Anyone in Texas Hills District can nominate an adult for this award. Two people can be selected by the Committee to receive the District Award of Merit. This award is to recognize Scouters who have provided exemplary service to Scouting at the district level. Submit nominations to the District Advancement and Recognition Chair, Darlene Karthauser.

Texas Hills Scouters who have received this award are:

                                                                             Tom Page        Lawrence Ray Smith

                                                                           Tom Brown        Linda Marshall

                                                                    Carryl Vasquez        Robert Collier (2)

                                                                    Chuck Hopkins        Ed Mulvey

                                                                       Chris McCain        Wheeler Mosty

                                                            Darlene Karthauser        Sarge Klingeman

                                                                            Nita Weber        Dotie North

                                                                          Brian Fisher

The Silver Beaver Award is the highest honor awarded to a Scouter at the Council level.  Scouters who have provided outstanding service at the Council level can be nominated by anyone in the district and submitted to the District Executive, Andrew Chapline. The Council Committee will determine the Silver Beaver Recipients.

Texas Hills Scouters who have received this award are:

                                                            Darlene Karthauser        Joseph R. Sisca

                                                                            Nita Weber        Gloria North

                                                            Preston Weatherred        Tom Pardean

                                                                          Brian Fisher        Linda Marshall

                                                                  Barbara A. Story        Lawrence Ray Smith (Gulf Coast Council)

                                                             Dennis M. Biediger        Robert Collier

Dr. Lawrence Ray Smith was awarded the Silver Antelope Award recognizing his service at the National level for his work with the National Religious Committee.

Packs can also earn the Summertime Pack Award.  Pack 60, Pack 147, and Pack 471 have earned this award.

Please turn in nominations to the appropriate people to show appreciation to your leaders for a job well done.  Turn in nominations by the December 4 Roundtable.  Invite everyone in your unit to the banquet on January 8 to show your leaders your support and appreciation.

Copyright ┬ę 2018 Alamo Area Council, Boy Scouts of America.
Phone 210-341-8611 All rights Reserved. Web Site Powered By CouncilWare®