MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

2015 Texas Hills District Recognition Banquet Recognizes Outstanding Service

by Darlene Karthauser, January 21, 2015

On January 8, Texas Hills District celebrated many who have served the Scouting movement selflessly in 2014 at the District Banquet held at Bandera United Methodist Church.  A delicious meal was prepared by the committee and awards were given for outstanding leadership at the unit level, at the district level, and at the council level.  Several special guests were also in attendance, including the Council COO, Ernie Gonzalez, and three of the twelve 2014 Eagle Scouts.

The menu for the evening included barbecued brisket, potato salad, cole slaw and desserts.  Darrell Young, Chef from Kerrville First United Methodist Church, spoke on the topic "I wouldn't eat that if I were you!", giving insight into food handling safety guidelines interspersed with his great sense of humor.

After the meal, John Harrison, Master of Ceremonies for the evening, led us right into the awards section of the evening. A very special National recoginiton was given to Scout Jake Chapman from Troop 111.  He received a Medal of Merit for his quick, thoughtful actions that saved his brother from choking by using the abdominal thrust method to dislodge food from a choking victim.

The Top of Texas Awards are given for outstanding service given at the unit level.  Sean Basinger, Troop 471, and Scott Chapman, Troop 111, received a nicely laser engraved plaque donated by Guadalupe Signs of Kerrville (owner, Brian Fisher).  Next came the District Award of Merit for outstanding service at the District level.  This award was present to Alan Hodel for his involvement in establishing several troops in the district including the Pathways Troop 61 in Mountain Home.  Alan is also involved with the San Antonio Eagle Scout Alumni Association. The People's Choice Awards were again a fun interlude from the serious service awards given. 

The highlight of the evening was when Ernie Gonzalez present Carryl Vasquez with the Silver Beaver Award for outstanding service at the Council level.  Carryl has been actively training leaders and Scouts at Woodbadge courses, National Youth Leadership Training courses, Powderhorn, and always accepts the medic role at any Scouting event she attends whether at a unit, district, or council level activity.

2014 Eagle Scouts in attendance were Trevor Chambers, Andrew Chapman, and Chase Hall. Each received an Eagle Scout coin.

Andrew Chapline, District Executive, reported on the State of the District.

The evening was a great success, though attendance was light.  Hopefully, next year more units will come to share in the celebration of our outstanding Scouts and Scouters.  Until then...Let your Scout Spirit shine!!

Copyright ┬ę 2018 Alamo Area Council, Boy Scouts of America.
Phone 210-341-8611 All rights Reserved. Web Site Powered By CouncilWare®